The Reluctant Librarian: Black Coffee, No Bitches.

BTS Original: The Reluctant Librarian

The Reluctant Librarian: Black Coffee, No Bitches.
Copyright 2016 Kaya Omodele @TheAbeng #Abeng

7:30 am Monday

I shoulder-strapped my mesh gym bag, loaded with twenty pounds of notebooks, folders, and a year’s worth of Writer’s Digest, and lugged it through the morning chill, across the prison yard to the library, where I copped some peace and quiet behind the desk, by my damn self. I like being alone like this; I can hear myself think, hear pages turn, Jah know, I can even hear my Empress, a two-and-a-half-hour drive away in Atlanta, getting ready for work.

I absolutely love this time of day, blissful calmness before people start dropping in, dropping questions about books; dropping books in the book-return bin; dropping by to pick up books; and, worst of all, dropping by to chat a bag of fuckery that ain’t got no bearing on the price of tea in China.

Down here in the morning, it’s just me and my thoughts and this whole library of books stacked in order by the might of my very own hand. These books don’t trouble me; they don’t even try holding conversation with me; and they damn sure never grate my nerves, spitting guile all the while. Up there in the block, there’s way too much noise and empty barrels.
“Nigga, you see that bitch Nikki on the Hip-Hop awards?”
“My Nigga, I showed you my photos. I ain’t tripping on that bitch; I got bad bitches.”
“Stop! You ain’t got no Nikki Minaj-type bad bitch, tho, my Nigga.”
Nigga, Nigga, Nigga; Bitch, bitch, bitch… Dumb-ass dialogue be corroding my nerves like acid, coming like pestilence swarming out, devouring my tranquility.

So, savoring this solace, I sip a two-fist sized cup of 190-degree, commissary-gouged, 100% Columbian blend, which I always take dark and natural like I love my women-no sugar, no bleaching. Now all I need is the other side of this fence and my Empress- ain’t got no bad bitches.
You done know!

Kaya Omodele
The Abeng and My Conscious Pen http://consciouspen.blogspot.com
FB: http://www.facebook.com/TheAbengandMyConsciousPen

 

Have something to share? Send all submissions and queries to blogsubmissions.btspublishing@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

