The American Dream

american-dream-collage

The American Dream
by Drako Sullivan
copyright 2017

For years I was bonded, in chains, trapped by ignorance and exploitation, branded with whips, beaten and hung by my neck. I was told that three-fifths of a man was the most I could be. I was stripped of my culture, pride and dignity; all in the pursuit of the American Dream.

The storm was calm and I was set free; so it seems. But the hate and discrimination increased. I was attacked when I came in peace. I still found a different way to fight; thru boycotts and marching for my civil rights. My churches were bombed by men covered in sheets. Worst of all, I witness the assassination of a KING. All in the pursuit of the American Dream.

WOW!… There might be a chance, a pinch of hope or a dash of opportunity. The people elected a man to lead, and he looks like me. But now his presidency has come to an end and that hope is fading into the sea. Uncertain of tomorrow and what it may bring in the pursuit of the American Dream.

WAIT!… Our President Elect comes with claims of making America great…AGAIN. What does he mean???? Will I have to relive the journey in the pursuit of the American Dream?

Leave a Reply

