Can You See Me?

Can You See Me?…
By Derek Covington and Drako Sullivan
Copyright 2017

21765019036_cdf9e9340f_t

Can you see me?…Of course you can.

No, not the clothes I wear, or where I stand.

An innocent bird beating its wing against the cage;

another lost soul, engulfed by rage.

Trying to walk in the path of the light; shining from the Son.

Caught up in a web; so diabolically spun.

Like a wild animal that fears the capture.

Again and again our balance inspired by His rapture.

Let the dead bury the dead, Ol Cool Breeze.

Come Ol-man, get off your square; stand in my 360-degrees.

The echoes of Willie Lynch whispering off cypress tree.

And they said it is a war on drugs; only upon the likes of me.

Can you see me?…Of course you can.

Yes, I am a victim of a clandestine plan.

A chained lion; his opaque eyes staring beyond its cage.

Confine only by hatred and rage.

Marching stride for stride, my journey just begun.

Fighting against a beast, refusing to be out done.

After years of suffering and constant struggling I endure.

Motivated only by a will that is innocent and pure.

Vengeance is mine saith the Lord, for those who believe.

I persevere to prevail and through salvation I succeed.

Haunted by images; my ancestors hanging from trees.

The world has to notice the act of genocide to rid the likes of me.

 

 

 

Publishers Note:

This was written by Derek and Drako while they were being unjustly housed in the SHU at F.C.I Edgefield. BTS commend them on their strength and ability to remain focused.  To all dealing with the plague of mass incarceration, inside or out, stay strong and keep your head up!

Leave a Reply

